What If You Threw A Party And EVERYONE Came?

marvel universeOK. So when I posted about my upcoming Secret War Event on Google+, I wasn’t expecting quite the response I got. I already had two friends who had committed to playing, and my plan was to simply solicit a couple more players to round out my table. Given the poor response I’d had for Hulk Smash Xmas!, I wasn’t expecting much. Imagine my surprise then, when within a day or so, I had nearly a dozen who wanted to play.

So what I have decided to do . . . was open up a second date. Now I will be running the same campaign twice. Thursdays every other week. Mondays the alternating weeks. My take on it is that this is an opportunity for me to practice my GM-ing. They say practice makes perfect. What I get is two chances to get it right, and to speed up the learning curve. And right now, I’m probably looking at running two sessions of six players each.

But I do have some concerns:

  1. Number of Players: Having six players may prove a challenge to manage in play. It might slow down play considerably, especially in Action Scenes.
  2. Player Attrition: While they may commit to play, not all will show. Or not all will show every week. Between Events, this is less important. But in the middle of an Event, I may end up having to run too many Watcher characters at once.
  3. Creating Content: My original idea was to create mini-Events to fill in the spaces between published Events. But it could be problematic doing so weekly over two competing, parallel campaigns.
  4. Laying Down Some Rules: With so many players, it will be important to lay down some table rules to help keep the game run quickly and smoothly.

Sooo, we’ll just have to wait and see how this all goes. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

